We offer a curriculum which, by means of developmentally appropriate play and a high level of adult support, leads to nationally approved learning outcomes and prepares children to progress with confidence onto Early Learning Goals and ultimately onto the National Curriculum targets. Children are competent learners from birth, they develop at different rates and in a variety of ways and our curriculum allows us to consider their needs and interests.

The provision within preschool for children’s development and learning is guided by the Early Years Foundation Stage [EYFS].  All staff follow the lead of each individual child to plan according to their interests and next steps based on the Early Years Framework.

  • There are 7 areas of learning and development:
  • Personal, Social and Emotional [PSE]
  • Communication and Language [C&L]
  • Physical Development [PD]
  • Literacy [L]
  • Mathematics [M]
  • Understanding the World [UW]
  • Expressive Arts and Design [EAD]

All areas depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development.  All areas are delivered through carefully planned, purposeful play with a balance of child initiated and adult lead activities.  Each area has an Early Learning Goal [ELG] which state what children are expected to know and be able to do by the end of the reception year at school.  Further information can be found in our Planning Policy on our parent trolley and at